California Laws A to Z Blog Posts: Updated February 26, 2021 Playlist: Age of Consent VideosWatch this playlist on YouTube The age of consent in Califonia is 18. The legal age of consent refers to the age at which a person can legally consent to engage in sexual intercourse. This age is the same for males and females.
Can an 18 year old date a 18 year old in California?
The age of consent in California is 18. Under the law, teenagers do not have the legal capacity to decide to engage in sexual intercourse. Anyone who is facing charges for unlawful sex with a minor should seek the assistance of an experienced Los Angeles criminal defense attorney immediately.
Can a 16 and 18 year old date legally in California?
In California, it is illegal for an adult (someone 18 or older) to have sex with a minor (someone younger than 18), even if the sex is consensual. Those who break the law have committed statutory rape.
When did the age of consent become 18 in California?
Californias original statutory rape law dates from 1872, but the current regulation was enacted in 1970. Refinements, such as changes in reporting procedures, have continued steadily. California is among 14 states where the so-called age of consent, when a person can legally agree to engage in sex, is 18.
Is a 17 year old dating a 18 legal in California?
In California, the age of consent is 18. For example, if a teenager is 17-years-of-age or younger, he or she cannot legally consent to sexual activity. Therefore, if an adult age 18 or older has sex with someone who is 17 or younger, they can face criminal charges under Californias statutory rape law.