Question: What is a Type 1 firefighter?

The Firefighter Type 1 leads a small group (usually not more than seven members) and is responsible for their safety on wildland and prescribed fire incidents. The FFT1 supervises resources at the FFT2 level and reports to a Single Resource Crew Boss or other assigned supervisor.

What is a Type 2 firefighter?

The “Firefighter Type 2 (Crewmember)” forms the backbone of our efforts to manage or suppress wildland fire. These entry-level positions frequently work long days in hot, smoky conditions to build fire lines across rugged terrain with hand tools and chainsaws.

What is a Type 3 wildland firefighter?

Type 3. A water tender with a minimum pump capacity of 200 GPM. 1000-2500 gallon tank. GVWR greater than 26,000 pounds.

What are the different types of wildland firefighters?

Different Types of Wildland FirefightersHand crew. Hand crew is a frontline wildland firefighting position. Engine Crew. Fuels crew. Hotshot crews. Helitack crews. Smokejumpers. Wildland fire module.Jul 8, 2020

What is a Type 4 fire?

Type 4. Initial attack or first response to an incident. IC is “hands on” leader and performs all functions of Operations, Logistics, Planning, and Finance. Few resources are used (several individuals or a single strike team) Normally limited to one operational period.

What is a Type 4 fire incident?

Type 4: City, County or Fire District Level – a designated team of fire, EMS, and possibly law enforcement officers from a larger and generally more populated area, typically within a single jurisdiction (city or county), activated when necessary to manage an incident during the first 6–12 hours and possibly transition

What is a Type 2 IA crew?

Type II IA simply means we are Initial Attack capable, 100% self sufficient and can split our crews into four separate modules with the appropriate leadership and qualifications.

What is a Type 1 IMT?

A Type 1 IMT is a self-contained, all-hazard team recognized at the national and state level, coordinated through the state, GACC, or NIFC. All personnel meet the NWCG training regimen at the Type 1 level for their specific position.

What is a Type 3 engine?

Type 3—An engine that features a high-volume and high-pressure pump. The GVWR is generally greater than 20,000 pounds. Type 4—A heavy engine with large water capacity. Chassis GVWR is in excess of 26,000 pounds. Type 5—Normally an initial attack engine on a medium duty chassis.

What is the difference between a Type 1 and Type 2 Incident Management team?

Several Type 1 teams were assigned to assist FEMA after the September 11th attack, the shuttle recovery effort and Hurricane Katrina. National “Type 2” IMTs can be assigned to major fires, VIP visits, lengthy search and rescues, law enforcement incidents, multi-day special events.

What is a five alarm fire mean?

1. A fire that is so large or intense that it requires the presence of many firefighting units to try to contain it. A five-alarm fire is the reason we heard all of those sirens last night. 2. Someone or something that is very intense or stressful.

What is a Type 3 IMT?

An all-hazard (Type 3) IMT is a multi-agency/multi-jurisdiction team for extended incidents formed and managed at the state, regional, or metropolitan level.

Say hello

Find us at the office

Pelotte- Conradi street no. 55, 41424 Valletta, Malta

Give us a ring

Brannan Kayser
+94 575 494 299
Mon - Fri, 8:00-20:00

Write us