Question: What are the legal ages of marriage in Missouri?

In July 2018, Missouris governor signed a bill raising the minimum age of marriage with parental consent to 16. Additionally, the bill prevents anyone 21 or older to marry someone under the age of 18.

Can you get married in Missouri at 13?

Even children ages 14, 13, 12 or younger can marry in Missouri, as it remains one of 25 states with no minimum age requirement, although at 14 or younger, a judge must approve. “What do I think about 15-year-olds coming to the state of Missouri to get married?” she said.

16 Effective August 28, 2018, Missouri law makes it impossible for children under 16 to get married, and makes it more difficult for 16 and 17 year olds. Before the new law, Missouri was one of 25 states with no minimum marriage age, which made the state a destination for underage brides and grooms.

What you need to get married in Missouri?

There are a few pieces of paperwork you will need to get a marriage license in Missouri. Proof of Identity and Age. Both parties will need to prove their identity and age with a drivers license, state ID, passport, military ID, a certified copy of U.S. birth certificate, or government ID card. Social Security Numbers.

What kind of divorce state is Missouri?

Types of Property Divided in a Missouri Divorce Proceeding Missouri is a dual-property state, which means that, for divorce purposes, the court will further break down property into two categories: marital property and non-marital property.

Do unmarried parents have equal rights in Missouri?

In Missouri, if a child is born to unmarried parents, then the mother is automatically given sole custody with full parental rights. However, once the courts have validated the petition for paternity, the father is given rights equal to that of the mother and can seek custody and visitation.

What makes a parent unfit in Missouri?

The Missouri legal definition of an unfit parent is essentially the same as the federal legal definition of an unfit parent, which is, A parent may be deemed unfit if they have been abusive, neglecting, or failed to provide proper care for the child.

Are witnesses required for marriage in Missouri?

If youve been married before, youll need to provide the date your last marriage ended either by divorce or death. Bigamous marriages are void in Missouri. Two witnesses to the marriage ceremony must sign the marriage license.

How much does it cost for a marriage license in Missouri?

The license fee of $51.00 must be paid in Cash or by Debit/Credit Card (there is a convenience fee for card use) at the time of application. No refunds. Missouri law has eliminated the 3-day waiting period to obtain a marriage license.

What is the wife entitled to in a divorce in Missouri?

Missouri is an equitable distribution state, which means judges will divide marital property in a way they believe is equitable (fair), but not necessarily equal. A court doesnt have to give each spouse a 50% share of the marital assets.

What is considered abandonment in a marriage in Missouri?

Abandonment Laws in Missouri When one spouse leaves the other without consent, this is considered abandonment and it may be grounds for divorce in Missouri. Also, it is considered abandonment, or desertion, when the: Parties failed to agree about the departure.

Any person related within degrees specified in 46b-21; No man may marry his mother, grandmother, daughter, granddaughter, sister, aunt, niece, stepmother or stepdaughter, and no woman may marry her father, grandfather, son, grandson, brother, uncle, nephew, stepfather or stepson.

Say hello

Find us at the office

Pelotte- Conradi street no. 55, 41424 Valletta, Malta

Give us a ring

Brannan Kayser
+94 575 494 299
Mon - Fri, 8:00-20:00

Write us